Living without a driver’s permit/license can be difficult, but getting one is within your reach. Use our tests to practice before taking the Alabama DPS Permit / Sign test. Get as close as you can to the actual DPS test from the comfort of your home computer. See for yourself! Randomized questions enable a different test every time you take it. There are different format options to choose from. See your score at the end of each test and find out the right answer if you missed any. Take the test as often as you want without registrations or trial periods. We are sure you will find continued practice for your Alabama DPS Permit /Sign Test useful—no sign ups, no trials. And, hey!—tell your friends on Twitter and Facebook. Practice and the roads of Alabama will be yours!
Learner's License - Fifteen year old. The "Y" restriction indicates that the holder may operate a motor vehicle while accompanied by a person who is 21 years of age or older and, who is duly licensed in this state or a licensed or certified driving instructor occupying the seat beside the operator. Learner's license - Sixteen Year Old. The "Y" restriction indicates that the holder may only operate a motor vehicle with a licensed driver occupying the seat beside the driver.
Once you’ve completed your 30 hours of behind-the-wheel practice and held your learner's permit for at least 6 months, it’s time to head to the Alabama DPS for your road exam to get your provisional license.
Any place that is legal for a licensed driver to drive. Be smart when your first starting to drive and don't get yourself in situations that you will be easily overwhelmed.
Yes, If you wear corrective lenses, you should wear them during the exam.
Under 21 .02%. 21 or older .08% and Commercial .04%
Your local Alabama Department of Public Safety office is the place to go when you are ready to apply for your license. If you need additional help finding your local office, visit dps.alabma.gov
The minimum driving age in Alabama is 16. However, there are certain exceptions and restrictions: Learner's License - Fifteen year old may obtain a restricted Learner's License for the purpose of learning to safely and effectively operate a motor vehicle.
When you’re ready to apply for your learner’s permit, go to your local Alabama DPS office and submit:
No, this is not an open book test. Study the driver's manual and practice our test and you will do well.
There are a few documents you will need when you go to take your permit test. You are going to need at least one document that verifies your identity such as a:
You will need one document that verifies your Social Security Number such as a
You will also need at least 2 documents that verify your address such as
Yes. $5 for the learner's permit test (no checks).
If you’ve prepared well for the permit test, the night before the test shouldn’t be too stressful. In fact, you should be able to relax a little.
No, a drug test is not required.
Yes, you should be very familiar with the driver’s manual. Use our practice test to test your knowledge but use the driver’s manual to study. If you do this you will be successful.
Expect to know Alabama traffic laws, road signs, and rules for safe driving. All material will be taken from the Alabama Driver License manual. Subjects will cover sharing the road, meaning of road signs, navigating Intersections, speeding consequences, drinking and driving laws.
Read and study the Alabama Driver’s manual until you are comfortable that you know the material. Then you can use our practice test to test your knowledge. Take our test as many times as necessary. Don’t use our test as a study guide that is not what they are intended for.
First, ready the entire driver’s manual the questions will come from the manual only. Second, practice out test until you are consistently scoring high each time you take it.
Alabama drivers under 18 have a choice of completing at least 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice or completing a driver education course approved by the Alabama State Department of Education.
The biggest mistake most people make is not studying the driver’s manual and only taking the practice test. You must study the manual!
You must get 24 out of 30 questions correct.
No, a physical is not required to receive your permit.
If you are 15 years old when you go to apply for your permit, your parent or legal guardian must bring you. The only other person who may bring you at this age is a driving instructor. If you are 16 or older, any responsible licensed driver age 21 or older may bring you.
There are 30 questions on the permit test. You must get 24 of the correct.
No, parallel park is not a requirement.
Yes, you can practice any where it is legal to operate a vehicle. But do not get into situations that are over stressful or over your head this could be dangerous and hurt your confidence.
You will need your learner’s permit (make sure it has not expired), $23.50 for your license fee, a well maintained vehicle, proof of insurance and a licensed driver age 21 or older.
You will need to go to your local Department of Public Safety office. If you need additional help finding your local office, visit dps.alabma.gov
You will need to demonstrate to the examiner that you can make proper right and left turns, change lanes, use marked and unmarked lanes of traffic, back up the vehicle and make a quick stop if necessary.
Yes, matter of fact if you normally wear corrective lenses, you must wear them during the exam.
A lot of practice. Nothing is going to prepare you for the road exam except time behind the wheel.
You definitely want to avoid:
You request must be made 48 hours prior to the preferred date of test and can be scheduled up to two weeks in advance. Request may be by phone or by e-mail.
Right here on this page.
When you take your driving test it will just be you and the examiner. No one else is allowed in the vehicle.
No, if all possible try to use the vehicle that you have been practicing in the most. If you can’t use that vehicle make sure you do practice some in the vehicle you take your test in. Also make sure the vehicle you use is clean and in good maniacal condition.
If you are under the age of 18, you will receive a license with restrictions. Restrictions include not being allowed to drive between midnight and 6 am for the first 6 months. Check out your driver's manual for other restrictions.
The most important thing for you to do now is to practice as much as you can. This means getting behind the wheel as much as you possibly can. Ask an adult family member or friend with good driving skills to ride with you. Or, you can use the services of a professional driving teacher. If you do not have a trusted and skillful driver to drive with, a professional can help you pass your practice permit test with flying colors. At first you will be awkward. You will make mistakes with your braking and gas skills. If your car has a manual transmission, you will jerk the car from time to time. You will feel like you are all left feet and thumbs. Many people feel most comfortable in a deserted area or an empty parking lot at first. Not only are these locations safe to make mistakes in, but you will not be under any pressure to perform.
First congratulations you did it! Once you’ve paid your $23.50 license fee you will be issued your temporary license with your picture on it showing that you have the privilege of driving in Alabama. Your permanent license will arrive in the mail in thirty days.
Don’t give up. There is no limit to the number of times you can take your road test. You may want to think about hiring a professional instructor.
It is time to hit that driver’s manual some more. Also keep practicing our test until you are confident you can master the test.
After you do some more studding and practicing our test. Time wise there is no limit.
You will need to do some more practicing and work on the things you are week in. Once you are ready, you may take your test again. You can only take one road test per day.